Salmon with Panko Crust and Salmon Burger with Pickled Veggies

I know I probably mention this every time I post about a seafood recipe I made, but I cannot believe I used to dislike fish.  I mean, its understandable..the fishy smell can be quite off putting, especially for younger children who seemed to be pre-programmed to dislike anything green or that smells different than chicken…which has no smell.   Regardless, sushi was my turning point and after I became ok with seaweed the rest of my fish eating habits is history.

A couple years ago I had a roommate who also enjoyed cooking and she would make a similar panko crusted salmon which is where I got the idea.  Let’s face it, anything beautifully coated in a crunchy golden panko with a little butter and even garlic is quite irresistible, not to mention extremely easy to make.  If I was feeding more than just myself I would get the salmon filets from costco where you can get a good amount of bang for your buck as they say.  But my alternative is the frozen fish from Trader Joes.  Usually they come in freezer sealed packs of two or three filets and you can get salmon, tilapia, marinated ahi and other things but that’s usually what I get there.  Just think about how many you are feeding and choose a package with a weight accordingly (obviously the lighter the cutlets the cheaper it is).  You can keep it in your freezer for a week or two even before cooking it, which is always appealing when you get too many fresh vegetables that will go bad quicker.

When I made the panko crusted salmon I made both the pieces but knew I would only eat one.  So for a leftover meal I came up with the idea of making a salmon burger! The finished product resembled more of a crab cake-like patty but was absolutely delicious.  I even soaked sliced cucumbers and carrots in some rice vinegar for a couple hours before I made the burger and topped the patty with those along with a quick sriracha mayo…but honestly sriracha has been going on most things in this apartment lately.

HERE is a good recipe for panko crusted salmon.  And below is how I made the leftover into a salmon burger.

** I also made goat cheese and pesto smashed red potatoes. To make those boil the potato until fork tender, cut in half, smash with a potato masher and top with pesto and goat cheese then bake in a 400 degree oven until cheese gets slightly brown.

Salmon Burger with Picked Vegetables

Ingredients

  • 1 filet of cooked panko crusted salmon
  • 4 tbl light mayo
  • 1 egg lightly beaten
  • 3 tbl panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 tsp red chile flakes
  • 1/2 tbl capers
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Whole wheat bun
  • 1/2 cucumber sliced lengthwise
  • 1 whole large carrot sliced lengthwise
  • 1/2 c rice vinegar
  • 1 tbl sugar

Recipe

  1. A couple hours before eating or a day ahead combine the sliced carrot, cucumber, rice vinegar and sugar in a container, shake to mix and let sit in the fridge to marinate.
  2. In a food processer or by hand in a bowl combine the cooked salmon, 3 tbl mayo, egg, breadcrumbs, red chile flakes, capers and salt and pepper.  Mix thoroughly, you should be able to form a patty with the mixture.  If it is not holding together add more mayo.
  3. Heat 2 tbl olive oil in a nonstick pan over medium heat.  When hot add the pre-formed salmon patty.  Sear each side until golden brown, about 3 min each.
  4. While the patty is cooking, combine 1 tbl mayo with 1/2-1 tbl sriracha depending on your spice tolerance.
  5. At this point you can also toast the buns if you wish either in a toaster or in a preheated oven.
  6. When the patty is seared on each side (remember, the salmon is already cooked so you are just looking for a good golden brown crust, you don’t want to overcook it) remove from heat.
  7. Smear some sriracha mayo on bottom and top hamburger bun and place the salmon patty on the bottom bun.
  8. Top with the rice vinegar marinated vegetables and place top bun on, ENJOY!

*feel free to adjust the burger toppings to your liking.

{This is how I sliced the veggies, feel free to slice differently}

{The Finished Plate!}

{This is a jump in the directions but I didn’t get any in between pics}

{Pesto Smashed Potatoes}

{Leftover Salmon Patty Makings}

{The Finished Burger}

Leave a Reply

