Creamy Spring Pasta with Paprika Shrimp

Nothing makes me more giddy than going out to check the mail and seeing a brand spankin’ new ‘Cooking Light’ magazine.  Some buy People magazine regularly, others have shelves and shelves full of National Geographic magazines…I have years worth of Cooking Light magazines built up.  At some point, I know it will be the smart thing to throw out some older ones or simply stop subscribing.  But it is such a joy to spend an afternoon flipping through the different recipes and planning new dinner menus.   I also just have a great love for this particular food magazine.  The recipes are always delicious but at the same time always on the lighter side (nutritionally).  They have a way of transforming recipes that everyone wants to eat into healthier versions so beautifully.  So if you’re thinking of picking up a food magazine, my recommendation is definitely Cooking Light.  Food Network mag is also good but not on the healthier side, and Bon Appetit is a little on the swankier side (aka not as versatile and easy to make all the recipes).    So there is my low down on various publications that are oh so important to everyones well being, but I know there are a few out there that feel the same way about food magazines, or even a different type…at least you understand my reaction to seeing the mag in the mailbox.

On another note, a lot of people ask me if I follow recipes or if I make them up as I go.  Well, it’s a little of both.  Most of the time I will see a recipe and either figure out how I can follow the basic premise of it but alter it to my delight (or based on what I have around).  Other times, I know I should follow it word for word.  But to be honest the ability to change it up is why I love cooking so much, as opposed to baking.  This post is one of those moments where I altered…most of it.  But when I saw a healthier version of a creamy pasta I knew I had to try it.  And because Cooking Light is so great about keeping the delicious taste of recipes while substituting lighter ingredients, you don’t have to worry about this cream sauce not living up to your favorite alfredo.

THIS is the recipe that I followed to make the cream sauce.  And the following are the ways I altered it based on what I had around.

1. I eliminated the asparagus and green peas.

2. I forgot to add the breadcrumbs, but wish I had.  So make sure to include those if you want.

3.  I toped the pasta with shrimp sauteed in 1 tbl olive oil until cooked through with 1 tsp paprika and 1 tsp ground black pepper.

4. I substituted shells for fettuccine because that’s what I had around.

{Cooking Light love}

{1/3 less fat cream cheese is the perfect way to get a creamy sauce while keeping it healthy}

{Finished plate, garnished with capers and fresh parsley}

** I trust that you know how to boil pasta so I eliminated that instruction

Leave a Reply

