Reeses Cupcakes with Peanut butter Buttercream Frosting

I really should just stop saying I’m not a baker.  But I swear half the time I try to bake something it doesn’t turn out well, measurements are too particular, all ingredients must be present blah blah blah. Well here is an example of baking done well, as much as I would like to say I make my own bread I think its best to stick to cakes and cupcakes.  Basically I’m going to avoid all things containing yeast is what I’ve decided.  So I guess Im not a baker of yeast-y things, does that satisfy you all? I feel good about it too.

As you know I’ve become a pinterest fanatic as many of you are too and unless my ‘popular’ pin feed is just tailored to know I love food you have probably noticed all these baked goods with candy in them too.  So, for a friends birthday recently (who loves Reeses, but who doesn’t…if you don’t you should probably stop reading right now) I decided to go the cupcake route with reeses in the middle and a peanut butter buttercream frosting.  Ok I also have to admit that this baking extravaganza gave me the excuse I needed to finally buy a frosting piping bag so I was just as excited to make these using an actual piping bag and not a plastic zip-lock with one corner tip cut off…you know you’ve done that too.

I followed THIS recipe by Brown Eyed Baker but stuck a mini reeses in the cupcakes before baking…which I have to say was the best decision ever.

{Double broiling technique, everything gets melted over boiling water by steam. This prevents fear of burning the chocolate}

{What a pretty piping set!}

{The frosting before piping it}

{The finished product..with a little extra reeses bits on top}

Leave a Reply

