Roasted Chicken with Shredded Brussel Sprouts

Ok, lets get a few things straight…apparently I suck at consistently posting on here. Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoy writing and posting my pictures (as most of you on facebook/ Instagram know).  But for some reason it takes more for me to sit down and relay the recipe to you guys.  At any rate, as I take a break from the inexplicable clutches of the Hunger Games series and with a little more time on my hands now, I have decided to catch up on all the posts I have been meaning to write about.  Starting with a simple roast chicken recipe.

I know I have written about roast chicken before, particularly rotisserie chicken and the wonders of how easy and delicious it can be to simply pick up a pre-roasted chicken from the store to slice up for dinner.  But to reiterate the ease of it all I thought I would post this variation, along with my tricks of brussel sprouts.

I’d say every about 4 months I get the urge to roast a whole chicken, not that it takes effort or anything but there is some planning involved, like knowing you can roast it the day you buy it, not really having any other leftovers waiting in the fridge, because for one person a whole chicken lasts me about a week of leftovers, etc.  But this instance in particular I was SO excited to test out my new meat thermometer, yup I said it.  I broke down (with the help of a Target gift card) and bought one that has a metal prod connected to a digital reader on the outside of the oven.  I probably should have read the directions before using it but I was just too anxious, it worked just great but I did end up needing to cook the chicken a little longer for it to be completely done after the thermometer registered the correct temp.  Regardless, it was very exciting to use it and of course a delicious chicken in the end (as you’ll see below).  And with the leftovers here are some ways I use the chicken up:

  • Chicken quesadillas
  • Added to salads
  • Simply re-heated (usually for the legs)
  • Sliced to make rotisserie chicken sandwiches with a little balsamic drizzle

Ok, on to the dreaded topic of brussel sprouts, although I feel like I should stop phrasing it that way since brussel sprouts seem to be much more common now, so hot right now. I have done the typical procedure of halving the sprouts and roasting them that way but I have come to much prefer shredding them and sautéing them.  They are a little easier to eat and resemble more of a cabbage, which is just more approachable overall. So here goes, ENJOY!

Roasted Chicken 

Ingredients

  • Whole roasted chicken (base size on how many you are trying to feed)
  • 1 tbl chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 tbl butter
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbl chopped garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 lemon (half left whole, the other juiced)

Recipe

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees
  2. Remove any giblets or anything left as a present to you in the cavity of the chicken
  3. Rinse chicken and pat dry, this will help the skin brown better
  4. In a small prep bowl mix the rest of the ingredients (up to the lemon) together until a buttery paste forms
  5. Lather the chicken with the seasoning mixture outside as well as under the skin. You can usually pry the skin away from the body around the bottom with the breast side up. This will also help the skin crisp up and season the actual meat
  6. Place chicken in a roasting pan or oven safe dish
  7. Brush the lemon juice over the chicken, place the whole half in the cavity.
  8. Insert thermometer (if you have one) in the thick part of the thigh, avoiding bone (if you hit a bone the temp will be inaccurate)
  9. Bake for about 1.5-2 hours or until the temp registers 180 degrees.  Don’t fret if you cut it open and its not fully cooked, just place it back in the oven and check it every 20 min.
  10. When the chicken is done, let rest for 10 min before slicing into it so the juices soak back into the meat.

Sautéed Brussel Sprouts 

Ingredients (serves 2-3)

  • About 5 or 6 whole brussel sprouts
  • 1 tbl rice wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp celery seed (if you have it)
  • 1 tbl olive oil

Recipe

  1. Shred the brussel sprouts with a knife (see picture below)
  2. Heat oil over medium heat
  3. Add the shaved brussel sprouts
  4. Constantly stir for about 2 min or until slightly wilted
  5. Add seasoning, continue stirring for another 3-4 min depending on desired crunchiness (less time will be crunchier, more will be wilty-er).
  6. Serve hot!

{Ugly uncooked chicken, but sweet new meat thermometer}

{Shaved Brussel Sprouts}

{The finished plate, with white rice}

 

Leave a Reply

