Sweet Potato Quinoa Cakes

I have to admit something.  It’s pretty terrible and nearly unforgivable.  I hope you all learn from my mistakes… I almost forgot the site that I found this recipe on.  There you go, I just put it all out there for your judgement.  Ok, but really if you learn anything, let it me to write down where you find recipes, especially if they are as good as this one… and double especially if you blog about what you eat.

I made these when my mom was visiting recently really for no other reason than I wanted to make a lighter dinner and that my mom loves sauce.  Yea, it sounds weird I know.  She just loves different sauces over chicken or, in this case, over quinoa cakes.  I used THIS recipe for the quinoa [Keen-waa] cakes and they came out great!   Halfway through you will feel like everything is going to fail but true to the blog post I followed it reinforces your panic attack and then gives you great satisfaction when they turn out well.

You can pair these cakes with any vegetable really.  I decided to put them over mixed greens as more of an accompaniment to a dinner salad with a thin yogurt dressing (to appease the mom).  But they would be just as good by themselves served next to roasted vegetables or something similar.

I ended up having a lot of leftover quinoa sweet potato mix so the next couple nights I would top a bit of the mix with an egg and bake at 350 for about 20 min.

For the yogurt sauce this is what I came up with:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup plain yogurt (if you use greek yogurt it will just be a thicker dressing/ dip)
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tbl chopped fresh parsley
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tbl olive oil
  • 1.5 tbl red wine vinegar

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl.  Whisk together.
  2. Adjust ingredients until it tastes like you want it  to (i.e more pepper, more vinegar, etc.)

ENJOY!

{Quinoa in the raw}

{The quinoa sweet potato mix}

{The finished plate}

Leave a Reply

