Quince fruit

What is quince? I had never heard of it before a year or so ago, and have still never really sought out the fresh quince fruit.  The first time I saw it was in a paste that my dad had bought for a picnic we went on and I am not going to lie I was a little weirded out.  It looked like any other jelly, brownish orange in color, but for some reason I was not that into it.  Until this year.

The fresh quince fruit looks something like a pear and honestly I couldn’t even tell you what it tastes like because, like I said, I have never had it.  But the paste, or jelly, is pretty sweet.  HERE and HERE is some more info on quince. Ill have to update this post if I ever happen to try fresh quince.

So as I was saying, this year I became a big fan of quince.  The internship I have has weekly wine wednesdays where we get some really good cheese, wine, crackers, dips etc, and end wednesday sitting around and indulging.  Well, one of the spreads we have had is quince and let me tell you, it is a perfect match for a goat cheese variety.  So I thought I would write this to un-obscure the quince fruit and its delicious paste.  I can also see this being a good base for a glaze on a fruit dessert…but that will have to be another post. =)

{What it looks like spread on a cracker}

{How I feel in love with the stuff}

Leave a Reply

