Mozzarella, Tomato, Basil Skillet Pizza

In case you haven’t noticed, I like pizza.  Looking through my past posts I’ve made various kinds of pizza (and many that I did not take pictures of), not to mention a breakfast pizza I made today that I intend to post about but after writing this post figure I should spread out my pizza posts.  So you can expect to see  that post in a week or two.  When I made this pizza in particular it was a day that I was craving pizza but did not want to go to the store to get pizza dough etc.  So I happened across the recipe from Deliciously Organic, and realized I had all of the ingredients in my fridge.  It was a done deal, pizza for dinner.  The only disappointing part was that I didn’t have any fresh basil, but I still included some dried basil for taste.  I’m sure it would have tasted a bit fresher but I’m pretty sure I finished half the pizza before even thinking about fresh basil.

I think the main reason I liked this pizza recipe is because the crust was thin and crispy but so flavorful!  There is a pizza place where I grew up that serves deep dish pizzas with this thin crispy crust that is just hard to explain but if you’ve had deep dish pizza you probably know what I am talking about.  Anyway, because of the beer in the crust (yes beer, see below if you are in awe), it just has this flavor that borders on beer but not too overpowering.  Just enough to stand up to a mozzarella and tomato pizza or BBQ.

The recipe makes 2 pizza crusts that create basically 2 individual pizzas.  But if you make a salad in addition you can easily split the pizza with another.  Or make it a pizza night and create different kinds of pizza depending on who is craving what.  Since I only made the one pizza the first night I had the second in the fridge and needed to use it the next day (believe me, it did not take too much persuading).  The second day I went with a BBQ pizza with BBQ sauce, garlic, mozzarella, and caramelized onions (I was too impatient to defrost and cook chicken to add to it). The pizza is easiest to flip if you are cooking it on a skillet or in a pan with no edges or low edges so you can get under the crust to flip it.   ENJOY!

Tomato, Mozzarella, Basil Skillet Pizza 

{It helped to have all the toppings prepared before cooking the crust}

{Tomato Mozzarella variation}

{BBQ variation}

Leave a Reply

