Thanksgiving Part 1: 3 Appetizers and a Salad

So the marathon of cooking thanksgiving was so fun and exhausting that it has taken me this long to have time to post about it. In all fairness, I have been thinking about it all week while I try to figure out in what order to post the pictures and recipes.  I think, in order to not overwhelm and create a post that is way to long and in effect, does not appropriately praise each dish, I will post in segments starting with the appetizers and salad.  Then moving to side dishes and turkey and finally the two pies and the cocktail recipe. (see, there is a logical reason why it took me so long to post, this post organization is serious stuff).

I have never cooked all of (ok most of) thanksgiving.  I started getting into cooking towards the beginning of college, but never was given the responsibility of cooking for the family.  Probably because I had to prove myself before my family would hand over the iconic reigns of the thanksgiving meal beyond just making family favorites.  But this year it just seemed assumed that I would cook it, I never really had to convince anyone!  I just told my mom I was collecting recipes about a month before thanksgiving and no questions were asked.  So after keeping two october/november Cooking light magazines, 2 William Sonoma essentials cookbooks, and a few others by my bedside for that month I finally came up with a menu that included the traditional family dishes and a few new ones which turned out to be the perfect balance.

I just love planning a whole meal from appetizer to cocktail to dessert, there is something so (OCD) satisfying about a complete meal, it truly feels like a marathon and I thrive on it.  I’m not crazy, I promise.  And I love having people help and teaching my family little cooking tips I’ve picked up on, but I love being the brains behind it.  So I hope after this year I have earned my badge of honor for the future.  =)

Appetizer #1: Crispy Cumin and Chili Powder Chickpeas 

(She used many more spices, it is really up to you and  your imagination of what spices you want to include.  The effect is the same.)

Appetizer #2: Pesto Palmiers 

You can choose whatever filling you desire with these.  I wanted more of a savory appetizer so I chose pesto.  But they are also traditionally just puff pastry with sugar.

{This was the final plate, I added some picked asparagus to round it out to0}

Appetizer #3: Sun Dried Tomato and White Bean Puree over Bri

Ingredients:

  • 1 can white kidney beans
  • 3 tbl oil packed sun dried tomatoes
  • 2 tbl oil from the sun dried tomatoes
  • 1-2 tbl oilve oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 wedge of brie cheese (warmed up if you like)

Recipe

  1. Combine the first 4 ingredients together in a blender or food processor if you have one. (If too thick add more olive oil to the mixture)
  2. Spread over the wedge of brie cheese on the plate you wish to serve.  Spread crackers around the wedge. ENJOY


{I added some sliced gorgonzola cheese to the plate and some store bought red pepper hummus}

Salad: Baby greens, Pomegranate seeds, Crumbled blu cheese, Toasted almonds, with a Cranberry Orange Vinaigrette 

  1. Combine all the goodies for the salad, top with dressing and mix to combine.

{Nothing makes a holiday salad like pomegranate seeds and cranberry vinaigrette}

Leave a Reply

