Recipe blast– Zucchini Fries, Chinese Chicken Salad, Ice Cream Sandwiches, and a Nectarine Galette


So, it has been a while.  A lot of changes have happened in the past few months but finally I am settled and ready to post about the past few months worth of delicious dinners and food adventures.  But a word to the wise…when moving, do not pack your camera photo uploader thinggy and then never be able to find it again.  Just a suggestion.

So where to begin…so many good meals have happened I just do not know where to start.  Let’s do this in chunks just to simplify things.  So As much as I love cooking and finding new recipes, I have to say that this summer there was a strong decline in the number of new recipes I tried and the number of times I even cooked.  Having held a job where meals were provided 6 times during the week and my hours would start as early at 7am and end as late as midnight, there was a basic lack of energy or desire to cook at those points.  But now I am back in the game and doing what I love.

I have found that I tend to think and cook by event or happening.  I’ll explain.  More than just cooking one recipe or one thing I love thinking of a theme, for example this summer (blog post to come) some coworkers and I decided to do a Greek themed dinner and with the help of 4 people we were able to make many different recipes.  Or if someone is coming to visit I like to plan out meals that I plan on making.  I guess it is basic tendency to feel more motivated when others are involved but that is mostly where my head is at.  For these particular dishes it was partly pent up cooking desire and partly a need to veer away from dining commons food but here are the dishes: Baked zucchini fries with warm marinara, Chinese chicken salad, Ice cream sandwiches, and Nectarine Galette.

Now, I don’t know how many of you are recently obsessed with pinterest.com…but I cannot tear myself away from the food section and the DIY section.  It is also a great way to find recipes.  you DO NOT have to get an invite. simply type the dish you want to make in the search bar and different pictures will come up, click on one and follow the link to the site that has the recipe!! To make this easier, I have found recipes online that I used for these dishes.  ENJOY!

Baked Zucchini Fries with Warm Marinara 

I love zucchini, I love it in pretty much every which way except raw.  So this recipe was a perfect find for a snack or for an appetizer!  HERE


Chinese Chicken Salad 

Now this dish I did not find on pinterest.com or online or in a cookbook, this dish is one that seriously brings me back to my childhood.  It gets extremely hot during the summers where I am from and all that is tolerable most of the time is a nice cold salad for dinner.  When I was younger my sister and I would spend all day at the swim club we were members at and the best nights were the ones where our parents would surprise us and instead of just picking us up would bring chinese chicken salad and their swimming suits and we would stay for the night swim.  Such great memories.  I love this salad but of course if you are against cabbage you can substitute other lettuce etc.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 head of green cabbage chopped into small pieces
  • 3/4 c sliced almonds
  • 1 tbl olive oil
  • 3/4 package crushed top ramen noodles (raw) {or you can use another crunchy noodle but it is nice texture}
  • 3/4 tbl toasted sesame seed oil
  • 1/2 c italian salad dressing
  • 1/2 package top ramen seasoning
  • 1 small can mandarine oranges

Recipe

  1. Put chopped cabbage in a large bowl, top with ramen noodles and mandarine oranges
  2. In a small frying pan heat up the olive oil on low to medium heat, add the sliced almonds and move around to coat. Make sure to stay by the burner!! These babies burn fast so keep moving them around until you start to see them brown then quickly turn off the heat. (the hot oil will continue to toast the almonds even with the burner off)
  3. When almonds are slightly cool (it helps to transfer them to a bowl) add them to the cabbage mixture
  4. in a separate small bowl combine the salad dressing, toasted sesame seed oil, and the ramen seasoning, whisk to combine and pour over salad.  mix to combine and ENJOY!

Ice Cream Sandwiches 

Since working at an ice cream/coffee/sandwich shop I have come to miss not only the free coffee (hence the reason I am addicted today) but also the ice cream and cookies alllways on hand.  But having moved away now, I have come to really enjoy making the famous cookiewich myself.  Combined with the influences from Trader Joes delicious ice cream sandwiches I think I have found the perfect dessert to have on hand that also looks quite impressive.

Ingredients

  • 1 roll premade cookie dough of your choice (or if you are ambitious make it yourself)
  • 1 pint/ carton of ice cream of your choice
  • chocolate chips or a par of chocolate to chop up

Recipe

  1. Bake cookies until just before done, the size is your choice, I liked having smaller sized cookies so I could make more sandwiches.  But just make sure the sizes are even.
  2. once the cookies are completely cool, dish out a scoop of ice cream on the inside of one cookie and top it with another.  Press down so that the ice cream hangs a bit over the cookies.
  3. Take the chocolate chips or chocolate bar and chop up the chocolate pretty fine (but not till it is a powder) {you could also get the mini chocolate chips and save yourself the chopping)
  4. put the chopped chocolate (or mini chips) on a small plate.  take the assembled cookie sandwich and roll it in the chocolate shavings.  You might need to use your fingers a bit to press the chocolate into the ice cream so it stays.
  5. place finished ice cream sandwiches in a baking dish and put in freezer for about 30 min to make sure it all firms up. And then you have them on hand whenever that ice cream cookie craving hits!

Nectarine Galette 

Welcome to the easiest, prettiest dessert you will ever make (even easier than the ice cream sandwiches!) I had seen these desserts made and had always wanted to try to do it but for whatever reason never did until this summer.  I had a couple extra pie crusts in the freezer which made this dessert so easy and since making the first one this summer I think I have made about 4 more. Feel free to switch up the fruit to whatever is in season and if you want to get fancy and add a type of filling that is up to you!  HERE 


Leave a Reply

