Chicken Enchilada Casserole

I have talked about leftovers in previous posts and how much I used to despise them.  However,  I think now is about time that I correct that statement…I never HAD to eat them so why would I prefer leftovers to a fresh meal?  This outlook all changed when I started living on my own and cooking for myself.  In the interest of saving money on groceries, even if I wanted to, I wouldn’t be able to afford just giving everything I make away to roommates and anyone else who is around, not to mention how different of schedules we all have that change on a nightly basis.  So from these year of living on my own I have come to see leftovers in a whole new light, and with a much different approach…revamp the food, don’t simply eat it the same way you did when it was fresh.  Of course the food will not taste as good the next day if you are expecting the freshness of when it was first made.

So one night I found myself with some leftover chicken that I had cooked as a whole chicken a couple nights previously (or if you have leftover rotisserie chicken from the grocery store) and happen to have looked through a recent issue of Cooking Light where there was an enchilada casserole and decided to use that chicken to mimic that enchilada casserole for dinner.  Let me tell you, it turned out better than I could have imagined.  I happen to have a can of fire roasted tomatoes on the shelf and that really took this dinner over the edge.

Leftover Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Ingredients (serves 2)

  • 3/4 cup shredded leftover chicken
  • 1 can fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 tbl chili powder
  • 1/4 cup frozen corn kernles
  • 3-4 corn tortillas cut into thin strips
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 individual serving dishes (or a small casserole dish)

Recipe

  1. in a small bowl mix the chicken, corn, sour cream, and chili powder.
  2. preheat oven to 350 degrees
  3. pour a layer of the fire roasted tomatoes at the botton of each baking dish or in the bottom of the casserole dish
  4. place a spoonful of the chicken mixture on top of the the tomatoes, then top with tortilla strips
  5. continue layering until you reach the top of the dish, top with shredded cheese
  6. bake for about 15 minutes or until all the cheese is melted. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

