Easy Pinwheel Pizza Rolls

I am not ashamed to admit that I have a new obsession…and that obsession is spending hours on end sometimes surfing the internet through stumbleupon.com.  It is a beautiful yet evil creation that is entertaining just as much as it is exhausting after looking at a computer screen for hours sometimes.  However, like I said, I have no shame.  And as no surprise probably (for those of you who are familiar with the site) I have cooking checked as one of my interests- among others.  So what happens when I click that lovely “stumble” button is that magnificent cooking blog sites show up and I find fabulous recipes or ideas of recipes that I would like to make from those sites.  That is how I thought of this recipe, I was “stumbling” one day when I found a series of cooking blogs that had recipes for garlic rolls, and pizza reinventions and I decided then and there that I wanted to make some type of pizza roll as opposed to the typical circular pizza I resort to.  however, when it came time to make them I couldnt remember the site that I found some of the ideas on!  But true to form (for me) I was so hellbent on making these rolls that I created a recipe in my head and went with it.  The were delicious! and devoured by my apartment mates and myself in minutes.

So easy to make with the help of Trader Joes, this dish could be a quick dinner on the go, a lunch, or a snack even! I chose a basic caprese type combination of ingredients for my rolls but you could add whatever you wish to these rolls and make it as unique or simple as you want.

Easy Pinwheel Pizza Rolls

Ingredients

  • 1 package trader joes pizza dough (I like the whole wheat best myself)
  • 1/2 jar marinara or pizza sauce
  • 1 16 oz package shredded mozzarella cheese
  • fresh basil (about 10 leaves)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbl dried italian seasoning
  • olive oil to brush the dough (about 2 tbl)
  • flour so the dough doesnt stick (about 1/4 cup)

Recipe

  1. remove the dough from the package, cover lightly with flour, form into a ball and let sit for about 15 minutes (read directions on packaging)
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  3. when dough has sat long enough gently knead it out into a rectangular shape. ( I formed mine on a cookie tray and continued working it until it was the size of the tray)– dont’t get discouraged if it doesn’t shape right away, keep working at it and eventually it will give in
  4. when the dough is the shape you want (rectangle is best so that when you roll it into a log it rolls evenly) cover with marinara sauce and top with desired toppings.
  5. start rolling the log from one long edge to the other.  You might have to lift it as you roll is to that the toppings do not slide with the rolling motion.
  6. Make sure that the seam after it is rolled is face down.  Brush the top with olive oil and dust with italian seasoning.
  7. Coat a baking dish with nonstick spray.  slice the pizza roll into about 3/4″ slices and place them gently face up in the baking dish.  Squeeze as many as you can together, they will break apart no matter how much they are touching.
  8. bake for about 15-20 minutes or until the cheese on top is browned and the crust seems done.  ENJOY!

[the chunks are mozzarella, when I made the dish I didn’t have shredded cheese]

One comment

Leave a Reply

