Chipotle Turkey Meatball Open Face Melt on Sourdough

I have always favored meat in pasta sauce or meatballs over simple marinara over pasta.  But it wasn’t until a couple years ago, when I started cooking, that I found a turkey meatball recipe that blew everyone away.  Since that first night of making them, that recipe has probably been the most replicated, long standing, recipe of mine to date.  But now that I have become more comfortable in the kitchen and able to think more “outside the box,” I have learned to adapt recipes and alter them to fit my current cravings or recipe inspirations.  I will always hold allegiance to that original turkey meatball recipe, but in this case…chipotle was a necessary addition.

I made these meatballs a day or so before the superbowl; maybe because of the appetizer mood that was in the air or maybe it was because I had received a chipotle mango jelly in my stocking for christmas that I had yet to try.  Whatever the reason, I happened to have an open can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and knew it would be a great addition to meatballs.  I originally envisioned that chipotle mango jelly used for an appetizer with crackers and cream cheese but it happened to be a perfect glaze to these meatballs the day after I made this sandwich.  Cut in half and stuck with toothpicks, it would have been a perfect appetizer for the superbowl the next day (had I hosted a party).

My current chipotle is bound to wear off soon, but this recipe will always bring good thoughts and definite stomach gurgling when I look at these pictures.

Chipotle Turkey Meatball Open face Melt on Sourdough

Ingredients (serves 4)

  • 1 lb ground turkey (or ground beef if you can’t stand the turkey)
  • 2 tbl chopped chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (chop finely)
  • 1/4 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 tbl garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tbl olive oil plus 1 tbl
  • 1/2 cup marinara sauce
  • 3/4 cup handful shredded cheese of your choice (I used mozzarella)
  • 4 slices thick sourdough

Recipe

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a medium bowl combine the ground turkey, chipotle peppers, garlic powder, salt and pepper, and breadcrumbs. Mix until combined.
  3. form 1″ balls of the turkey mixture
  4. in a nonstick pan heat the oil over medium heat
  5. place the formed meatballs in the pan, cook about 3 minutes before moving them (to make sure they don’t stick.)
  6. flip the meatballs and cook on all sides (about 10-15 minutes total)
  7. remove the meatballs from the stove.  On a baking sheet, place the bread on a baking sheet.  Brush olive oil onto each piece of bread.  Top with meatballs, marinara sauce, and cheese.  Bake in oven about 10 minutes or until cheese is melted. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

