Roasted Garlic and Goat Cheese Bruschetta with Tomato, Basil, and Olive Topping

Bruschetta is always an appetizer that looks good and sounds fancy.  I have never been faced with a bruschetta appetizer that I did not like, something about the crispy bread, the fresh tomatoes and the fresh herbs that combines into such a fantastic combination.  Growing up, when we would go out to Italian restaurants for dinner, we never tended to get appetizers which meant that for most of my childhood I did not get a chance to experience this perfection of flavors.  I don’t even remember the first time I tried Bruschetta or what combination made up the topping that night but ever since, appetizers are rarely not ordered.

I have made different kinds of bruschetta depending on how I feel.  I have made a roasted tomato bruschetta, fresh bruschetta, bruschetta with more of a tapenade topping (including olives and garlic).  But for this bruschetta I wanted nothing more than roasted garlic and goat cheese.  The combination hit me while I was sitting in my three hour class that is aggravatingly from 5pm to 7:50pm right in the middle of dinner, which left me with two options.  1. drool over the thought of the dinner but wait until the next night when I can made it during the dinner hour or, 2. get home and 8 and fight through the hunger and make it that night.  I chose the second.

On another note, I have actually never roasted garlic before.  I have heard about it countless times, and how wonderful it is that you can spread the clove on a crustini or the like.  I have been wanting to try do roast garlic but never really had the right purpose to do it…until this night.  Sitting in my class I googled the technique of roasting garlic and decided then and there that it was going to happen.

I made this recipe into more of a meal, so I used a whole rustic roll and simply sliced it into two large halves.  But you can easily use a smaller baguette and make it into an appetizer.

Roasted Garlic and Goat Cheese Bruschetta with Tomato, Basil, and Olive Topping

Ingredients

  • 1 small-medium size rustic roll sliced in half horizontally
  • 1 small head of garlic
  • olive oil
  • 1 small sheet tin foil
  • 2 tbl goat cheese
  • 3/4 cup chopped tomato (in small chunks)
  • 7 fresh basil leaves chopped
  • 3 tbl green olives chopped fine
  • salt and pepper

Recipe

  1. Heat the oven to 400 degrees
  2. slice the garlic head in half horizontally, place in a muffin tin, drizzle with olive oil and cover with tin foil
  3. place in oven and cook 45 min-1 hour depending how large the head of garlic is
  4. in the last 15 min of cooking, add the sliced bread to the oven to toast
  5. in a small bowl combine the tomatoes, basil, and olives and mix well
  6. when the garlic is done, pull it out and let cool.
  7. when you are able to handle the garlic squeeze out 3-4 cloves (depending how much garlic you like) and spread with a knife over the bread ** try to spread as evenly as you can
  8. then top the roasted garlic bread with goat cheese evenly, add a generous amount of the tomato mixture, add salt and pepper to taste and ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

