Green Chili and Corn Stuffed Turkey Burger With Cheddar Gorgonzola Cheese and Oven Fries

Lets take a second and talk about comfort foods.  Everyone has their favorite but mine, hands down,  is a burger and fries.  Growing up, my parents were not the kind to take my sister and I to Mickey D’s or Burger King every other day which is probably why the meal has such a soft spot in my heart.  I always had my meal of choice at each fast food place whether it be Chicken nuggets, a chicken burger, or a regular burger…and then of course the toppings changed depending on the place.  Don’t ask me why I developed this strange habit, lets just leave it at strange teenage years and picky food habits, that’ll pretty much sum it up.

As I got older and started tuning into the kinds of food that were healthier or not and it did not come as such a surprise that a regular, ground beef patty was not the healthiest of choices, not to mention that golden-y fried goodness better known as french fries.  Soon after that news sunk in I started to explore the wonderful world of ground turkey.  Some people have their preferences and can truly taste the difference between ground turkey and ground beef, but I am not one of them (or I just like the taste of ground turkey).  I will gladly substitute ground turkey for ground beef whether it be for meatballs, meatloaf, chili, or burgers.  With a little seasoning and other additions, the seemingly bland and boring ground turkey transforms into a mouthwatering source of protein with very little fat, always a plus around the holidays.

With one week left before my journey home for the holidays I am determined not to buy more groceries, looking around my kitchen and noticing a potato, frozen ground turkey and a block of cheese I knew my meal for the night would be the much awaited turkey burger and oven fries.  Not only that but I knew I had impulsively purchased a wonderful blend of white cheddar and gorgonzola cheese during my last visit to Trader Joe’s and couldn’t wait to try it on this burger.  Luckily I had gone to the farmers market earlier in the week and spontaneously purchased a green chili for only $1 which adds a wonderful dimension of flavor but not too much spice to this burger.  Place it all under a whole wheat hamburger bun and even though I’ve already eaten it as I am writing this, my mouth is watering for another.

When it comes to making burgers (turkey or regular) myriad ingredients can be added depending on the spin you wish to take, I was craving a tex mex flavor so I added some frozen sweet corn to the patty and broiled the green chili to top it off.  However, it is really up to you to personalize it to what you want which could just mean adding nothing or it could be as fancy as stuffed with ingredients (but that is a post for a different night).

Green Chili and Corn Stuffed Turkey Burger with Cheddar Gorgonzola Cheese and Oven Fries

Ingredients:

Burger: ¼ lb ground turkey, 2 tbl frozen corn, 1 tbl worchestershire sauce, 1 tsp paprika, 1 tble balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper

Toppings: ½ green chili, 3 slices cheese of your choice (I chose a cheddar gorgonzola mix), lettuce, bun.

Fries: 1 large potato, 1 tsp each of paprika, garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste

Recipe:

1. Preheat the oven to 450 Degrees, slice the chili in half (if using fresh) and place it skin side up in a baking dish.  Cover with olive oil and roast about 5 minutes (or until skin begins to brown).  **if using canned green chili skip this step.

** I decided to keep the skin on the chili but if you wish to skin it, place the hot chili in a zip lock bag for 5-10 minutes and then peel the skin off.  Cut the chili into strips to top the burger

2. Lower oven heat to 400 degrees.  Slice the potato into wedges and cover with 1 tbl olive oil, paprika, garlic powder, and salt and pepper.  Place on baking pan in one layer and cook 30-45 minutes, flipping once.

** If you want a toasted bun for the burger put it in with the fries for a couple minutes, making sure the watch it so it doesn’t burn!

3. Combine all the burger ingredients and form into a patty.  Heat 2 tbl oil in a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the patty and sear on each side for 3 minutes.  Lower heat and cover with lid, cook for another 10 minutes.

4. For the last 2 minutes of cooking, place cheese slices on patty and return lid to pan.

5. Assemble the burger to taste! ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

