Sauteed scallops with parsley and garlic over lettuce with sliced strawberries

Throughout my early cooking adventures where my palate started truly expanding I jumped at the chances to try new foods.  And throughout that adventure there was one thing that I surprisingly didn’t try until about a year ago were sea scallops.  Something about the name of them never really seemed that appetizing to me, reading a dish with scallops as the main protein never seems to trigger that pavlovian salavation reaction.  However I did end of trying them and to my surprise really like them!

As I mentioned in a previous post about salmon it took a long time for me to be an avid seafood eater.  And even after I accepted the life of a seafood lover I limited myself to fish and such that I knew would not be too fishy.  And for some reason scallops, in my head, fell into that category.  However let me be the bearer of good news SEA SCALLOPS ARE NOT FISHY! Ok, now that that has been cleared up lets get down to the recipe.  Scallops were the perfect addition to this meal,  on an unusually hot day I knew I needed to stick to something cool and light as a meal and scallops were the ideal protein making this meal satisfying, filling, and light all at the same time.  You can really add this scallop recipe to any meal whether it is pasta or just by themselves they were delicious, however adding the scallops to this salad was exactly what I wanted and a meal I highly recommend.

Sauteed Scallops with parsley and Garlic over mixed greens and sliced strawberries

Ingredients:

for the scallops: 7 large sea scallops, Salt and pepper to taste, 1 tbs olive oil, 1 tbs butter, 1/4 cup fresh flat leaf parsley chopped fine, 1 large clove garlic.

for the salad: mixed greens, 1/4 cup fresh strawberries sliced, salad dressing of your choice (a lighter dressing like italian goes well)

recipe:

1. sprinkle scallops with salt and pepper. Heat oil in a nonstick skillet that is large enough so all the scallops fit.

2. add scallops and cook 2.5 minutes on each side or until browned, set aside and keep warm.

3.  add butter to pan and melt butter.  Stir in parsely and garlic and cook 15 seconds until all ingredients are mixed together.  turn heat off.  Add the scallops to the mixture to coat well.

4.  rinse and chop lettuce if necessary.  slice strawberries and add to lettuce.  top the salad with the cooked scallops.  Add dressing to taste. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

