Salmon with citrus salsa verde

Unlike some of the previous posts, there really is no story behind this recipe or the reason I decided to cook it.  I will say though that it is pretty ironic that now 2 of the 4 or so recipes that I have posted happen to be salmon.  The reason for this irony is that until I was in high school I would not touch seafood (although shrimp didn’t count as seafood to me because for some reason I have always like shrimp).

I don’t know if there is some kind of bratty pride behind being a child and refusing to eat something that your parents are cooking, but as any child has, I had my picky habits and seafood (mainly fish of all kinds) happened to be a line I refused to cross.  However, somewhere along the line someone got me to take a bite of fish and other seafood and since then I have acquired a love of seafood.  Not only is it a healthy alternative to a lot of meals but it can be such a refreshing meal and substitute from the all american easy family favorite of chicken.

Don’t get me wrong, I love chicken and have many recipes that I enjoy with chicken.  But when there is an easy alternative (such as fish) I jump on the opportunity to try a new recipe.  This recipe was absolutely mouth watering and just as good and I had hoped it would be.  The only change I would recommend would be that baking salmon is often easier and less messy than using a grill or grill pan.  Also, the salsa that tops the salmon was so good I could have just eaten it by itself.  I happened to make the salsa the night before I actually cooked the salmon and I think that helped to infuse all the flavors together to make it taste that much better (not to mention a huge time saver).  With that said, I highly encourage everyone to try this recipe.  No matter how impressive it looks, it is much easier than a lot of meat dishes.

Salmon with citrus salsa verde

ingredients:

salsa: 2 large oranges, 1 tsp grated lemon zest, 3 tbl fresh lemon juice (1 lemon), 1/2 cut olive oil, 1/2 cup fresh flat leaf parsley, 2 scallions, 2 tbl capers (drained and rinsed), 1 tbl crushed red pepper flakes, salt and pepper to taste. salmon: oil for the grill, 4 skinless salmon fillets, 2 tbl maple syrup, salt and pepper to taste.

recipe:

1. to make the salsa zest the lemon and orange into a small bowl.  Then peel and cut the segments of the oranges, cut them into small chunks and add to the zest.  add the lemon juice, olive oil, parsley, scallions, capers, and red pepper flakes.  Toss together to combine and set aside (or overnight).

2. cover the salmon with the maple syrup and season with salt and pepper.  Heat the grill/ grill pan or preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Coat the grill/ pan with cooking spray or oil (or if baking lightly spray a baking dish.  Place salmon onto grill and cook each side 5-10 minutes (depending on the doneness you wish to achieve).  If baking place salmon in baking dish and cook in oven about 15 minutes.

3.  place on a place and top with the citrus salsa.

* I served the salmon with some wild rice and sauteed zucchini.

recipe from: Giada De Laurentiis Giada at Home, 2010.

Leave a Reply

