Skewered Appetizers

Pinterest has infiltrated the minds of so many women ages 20-35 it’s almost scary.  I have even found the term pinteresting or pinterest-y come out of my mouth in reference to something in a mason jar, a chalkboard, or for example these two appetizers.  I have found the pinterest is both a really amazing revolution and also the most obnoxious site to waste time on, there are so many crafting, food, or outfit ideas that it can really be a great way to get ideas for a party but I also have realized that I don’t want to walk into a party and have the first person’s comment on my food be “oh did you get that from pinterest!?”

With all of that off my chest I really enjoyed making these, Watermelon feta skewer with a lemon mint dressing and a caprese skewer.  It started last January when I cooking all the food for my dad’s birthday, I made a mediterranean skewer that was quite enjoyable.  So when it came down to choosing something to bring to a graduation party I was going to with a friend, there was no question…it had to be skewers.  My favorite was definitely the watermelon feta combo, and since making it as a skewer, I have made it as a mixed serve yourself salad and it was just as much of a hit so tailor the presentation to your needs as you see fit.

I got the recipe for the Caprese Skewers from THIS blog and used the same concept for the watermelon combo.

Watermelon Feta Skewer 

Ingredients (makes about 40-50 skewers)

  • 1 medium watermelon cut into bite size (skewer size) squares, Cut as many squares as skewers you are making
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1 bunch of mint
  • olive oil
  • 1 block of feta (crumbles will work if you are mixing it, but you need the block for the skewers)
  • toothpicks

Recipe 

  1. In a blender or food processer blend the mint, lemon juice and about 2 tbl olive oil until it is blended well.  Place about 1/4 c of the vinaigrette in a large bowl
  2. Add the watermelon squares to the
  3. If you are making the skewers, cut the feta into small cubes (smaller than the watermelon squares) Feta is pretty strong so a little square is plenty
  4. Assemble the skewers by stabbing a piece of feta and a piece of watermelon.  (you might have to figure out what works best for you, if the feta seems to be crumbling too much I would stab the watermelon first)

{The fixin’s}

{Not the prettiest picture but damn they tasted good}

Leave a Reply

